Madang Avenue Public School

Quality education in a caring environment

Telephone02 9625 7144

Learning programs

At Madang Avenue Public School we implement teaching and learning programs to suit our local context and the needs of our students.

This section of our website is where teachers communicate information on learning programs, student experiences and support for families.

Follow the links on the left of the screen to access the pages for all classes across our school. 

To learn more about curriculum and learning stages please see the information below.

Stages of Learning

There are 6 stages of learning from Kindergarten to Year 12. Primary school covers Early Stage 1 to the end of Stage 3. 

  • Early Stage 1 includes Preschool and Kindergarten.
  • Stage 1 includes Years 1 and 2.
  • Stage 2 includes Years 3 and 4.
  • Stage 3 includes Years 5 and 6.

Syllabus and Curriculum

The NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) is responsible for the curriculum, Kindergarten to Year 12, for all NSW schools.

For the primary years, NESA develops syllabuses for all subjects in 6 key learning areas:

  • creative arts
  • English
  • human society and its environment (HSIE)
  • mathematics
  • personal development, health and physical education (PDHPE)
  • science and technology.

To learn more about curriculum in NSW, visit: